365 Days Ago ~ Mindful Writing Challenge #8

One revolution around the sun, twelve months or four seasons ago I went on a hike through the woods on another mild winter day. I was with a friend who shepherded me on a narrow trail over hills and dale finally down to a small river. We crossed a wooden bridge and snacked while sitting on sun-warmed boulders. Beech trees with their silver bark reflected the dappled forest light. Moss and fern green poked through the leaf mold. It was an enchanting and spirited walk and talk with a new friend.

Sometimes we neglect to recall such days and other times we choose not to forget. I choose to remember that day as another, but not literal birthday, because I was asked to look beyond my fears into the unknown. There was a figurative door that I was afraid to open, because it might be too painful to see what was behind it. “How can you know anything unless you open it?” was the question. Well, here it is a year later that I opened the door and faced my fear of pain which is more crippling sometimes than the pain itself. In this case the Pain led me to Truth which led me to Healing which led me to self-Forgiveness, Gratitude and ultimately Openess and Peace.

So I am celebrating two birthdays in a row. #60 and #1. How great is that? Birthdays can be celebrated on any of the 365 significant days of the year. Imagine how Earth must feel – she can celebrate any millenia she chooses. It’s all relative.

winter stars
I look to the Pleiades
and wish you good night

ag ~ 2013

8 thoughts on “365 Days Ago ~ Mindful Writing Challenge #8

  1. There are so many treasured anniversaries when each new day launches the birth of yet another lasting memory to honor and celebrate one year hence. I love experiencing your walk in the woods through your prose and haibun. Very beautiful!

  2. Beautifully poignant, especially that second paragraph: asked to look beyond your fears into the unknown; a figurative door that you were afraid to open; but the Pain led to Truth. I love that! I find myself in a similar place – having to look at the fear and the pain, and into the unknown… There is a Rumi poem with the line: “The cure for pain is in the pain.” Sounds like that’s what you discovered… It’s encouraging! 🙂

    1. Christine, this Rumi quote is achingly true and especially poignant because this friend loves Rumi. I have found that Pain can be addressed by dialoging with it. Have you ever tried this? Sit down and write Pain a letter and ask what it wants from you. I’ve done this and the answers are profoundly simple yet achingly accurate along the lines of Pain asking me to “love that part of me that others have tried to persuade me is wrong.” It can be really interesting to see what you come up with. I’ve also done this with Procrastination, the Critic etc. When we are open and objective enough to listen (a process in itself) then these archetypal energies become friends who can actually guide us. Hang in there – sending healing energy your way. Andrea

      1. Thanks Andrea! Yes, I have dialogued with the the pain,(and other shadow aspects like anger and depression) and it has been quite profound here as well… I find that there are waves of “pain”/or whatever the current emotion is, and if I sit with them and just be with them without judgment they speak. Something I learned from Buddhist practice – to just be with whatever arises and let it speak. When one is with the feelings from that space of awareness the pain/emotion seem to dissolve; even if they arise again at a later date, as they always do 🙂 Thanks for the healing energy! Much appreciated.

  3. I believe writing is often therapy because it challenges us to gather our thoughts before we record them. Your 60 and one celebration is fitting – you were birthed and then re-birthed.

  4. Yes Barb, the writing is theraputic as is painting for me. I need them both in order to heal faster. I have been rebirthed several times this year. Now it’s getting back to having great fun with life!

Leave a Reply

