Summer Showing Her Petticoat

July

“Summer showing her petticoat”
that’s how you described
your birthday month
beloved season of drifting sails
beach wanderings and stormy skies.

How I miss our sharing
the hues of a summer garden
and the fragrance of long nights
along sleepy coastal towns 
with the breath of shells.

Sometimes 
I find it hard to believe
that you are no longer
a phone call or a letter away
but floating somewhere in the ether.

I wonder… because we made a pact
to stay connected 
and to start a new dialogue
despite this radical change of life –
is this you sending me so many hearts?

In the sand shaped by waves,
amongst stones piled high,
on the bathroom floor in a piece of tissue,
leaves that fall to the ground –
all the while I am thinking of you?

If so
I am grateful
for these sweet reminders
of a love still living in my heart
so strong and true.

for Robin ~ Happy Birthday Month
ag ~ almost July 2013

2 thoughts on “Summer Showing Her Petticoat

  1. I lost a friend of mine too. This really struck a chord with me because of that. Losing someone is so much more than painful. It’s challenging. It’s confusing. It’s complicated. I don’t think the space that person filled can ever be filled by someone else. It’s just an empty spot from there on out. It’s sad, but I suppose the hole left behind is a way of honoring their memory and ensuring that they aren’t forgotten… Just my two cents on it… Thank you for sharing this beautiful poem.

    1. Thank you for your empathy Just A Girl. Yes, loss is tough, however the love between souls lasts beyond this one lifetime. I try to think of my friend as going ahead and scouting out a new vacation location for us to share as we used to do. It helps me to think of it this way and that we will be together again soon enough. Blessings to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

