An Art Walk and Vulnerability

IMG_9107

IMG_9088

IMG_9051

IMG_9068

IMG_9022

This past weekend I was a participant at a local art-walk.  It was my first time to show and offer my paintings and collage work for sale.   It was exciting and exhausting.  I was more tired at the end of the day than I ever was after many a long day of labor as landscaper.  Meeting and greeting is simply hard work!

It was beyond wonderful to see so many friends, family, co-workers and clients – new and old come through the door with a big smile on their face every time I turned around.   And it was equally as gratifying to introduce each of them to the other artists’ paintings – all different and brilliant in their own way.  I offered my mini-business cards, which were strategically located next to dark chocolate kisses, with the hope that the kisses would entice a visitor to take my artist card as well.  This worked well  to my advantage and will be a staple for future shows.

It was an exhilarating, successful and fun day.  I did not sell anything other than myself and my love of creating and painting.  I put my artwork “out there – front and center” for everyone to see like it or not!  This was entirely out of my comfort zone.  It is a very vulnerable and open stance.  At the same time, it is also very liberating to share what is truly close to one’s heart and soul and trust that you are supported even if it’s only for the effort.  And I am unconditionally supported by all for far more than just the effort.  So it is with a sense of gratitude and  happiness to all my fellow artists, friends and family (here, there and everywhere), that I can now move forward with the real work – showing up to paint and poet despite dishes in the sink, clothes to wash, grass to mow etc. etc. etc..

A beloved quote that says it all for me and my art by Pablo Picasso:

“If I paint a wild horse, you might not see the horse… but surely you will see the wildness!”

IMG_3522

 After the Storm  ~

www.andrearosegrillo.com

Leave a Reply

