When It’s Gone… It’s Gone.

When It’s Gone – It’s Gone.

This terse piece of wisdom
is inscribed on the top of a tea tin.
It therein refers to the last cup
of a limited edition.

I felt sad reading it.
I had just come upon a photo
of my friend and me smiling
at the camera and the world.
Now she’s gone.

I took the tea from her home
on my last visit to say goodbye.
It was a pomegranate blend 
however, I just read the tin top for the first time.

It is exactly one year since her memorial.
The year of firsts without her 
has now come and gone.
She is once again 
sending me a clear message.

Like the white flickering tail of a doe
bounding off into the brush
When it’s gone – it’s gone.
AHO*

*A closing or blessing from the Native American Tradition that can be translated as “and so it is.” 

another goodbye on the horizon coyotes howl

ag ~ 10/13/13

One thought on “When It’s Gone… It’s Gone.

Leave a Reply

