Abstracting the Meadow

IMG_9267

 

 

 

 

 

I love meadows.  I love their simple beauty.  The wild yet friendly feel to the field grasses and wildflowers that bend with the breeze.   I love the color changes throughout the seasons, and all the insect and animal life that meadows support and grow.   Meadows and fields are also a pause – respite for the eye in the landscape much the same as a pond or lake.

And as hard as I try – I have failed to capture its special beauty on canvas in a representational or impressionistic painting.  Somehow, the poetry of the sun and sky on the field is elusive to my brush.  And yet the meadow does show up in my paintings most significantly through its own spirit of color and movement:

IMG_9262

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meadow Dance   ~ 2013

pastel on paper

ag

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

