Mindful Writing ~ 2014:25

Today was a Snow Saturday – my favorite day of the week for a snow day.  It was only about 3-4″ of light powder and perfectly still.  A great excuse to spend daylight hours indoors except for the obligatory dog walks which are a nice break along quiet wooded paths. 

I decided to forgo the binge shopping and storm cooking and took some turkey chili out of the freezer for sustenance.  The rest of the day was slated for painting and play.  As usual I need to warm up before putting paint to paper, so I prepped some canvasses and took some unsuccessful paintings and cut them up.  Only the good parts – which I call “petite vignettes” that are actually successful mini paintings when severed from the mother painting.  Many artists like to do this exercise which serves the dual purpose of saving the piece from being labeled a complete failure and saving the parts that can be used as seed images for future work.  Plus its fun!  The thing that I did differently this time though, was to almost randomly position them to form an abstract arrangement which helped my eye learn more (or less) to edit for a better composition.  Because the color palette is the same, all the parts can flow in an artful grouping. I did more cutting and pasting today than painting, however that was the planned-for-play part of the day.  

So now my small stones are starting to grow into story boulders.  Oh well, we are coming into the last week of January’s mindful writing.  After this its #NaHaiWriMo.  All of February is for writing a daily haiku.  There is a  Facebook page for just this and postings to Twitter.  Stay tuned for more stories in far fewer words.

snow powder
the dog and I track
our muse

ag ~ 2014

One thought on “Mindful Writing ~ 2014:25

  1. Sounds like you had an enjoyable and creative day balanced with dog-walking and tracking the muse…I can relate to that. I like the idea of cutting up an unsuccessful painting, and pulling the good parts out for use in petite vignettes. I’m not a painter, but I can see how this practice could be used with writing as well.

Leave a Reply

