Mindful Writing ~ 2014:28

I am reading “Portrait Of An Artist, A Biography of Georgia O’Keefe”.  I came upon the book, a first edition hardcover when I was in an unusual angry mood.  I needed to get out of the studio space I rent in a nearby town, so I took a walk talking to myself.  I naturally fell in step and gravitated toward the library – a stately old stone building with windows that shine like facets of emeralds depending on the light.  The Friends Of The Library committee was holding a fund-raising sale.  I did not want nor expect to purchase any more books – unless that is I found the one book on my extremely short ‘to-read’ list.  Well, let me interject here some information about my process.  I have lovely and dutiful Angels who guide and humor me.  When they really want to get my attention, they hand me something to read.  It’s easier that way.  So when I scrambled off to walk and breathe out my anger instead of holding it inside, they knew that I would semi-consciously head toward the library if not to borrow then just to stand in the silence and scent of books.  Since I was in a slowly dissipating foul mood, I allowed myself to head toward the booksale/fundraiser.  Quietly tucked into overflowing shelves of this mini-library was the only book I would be tempted to buy.  It’s price was raised from the standard of one dollar to three dollars because it was a first edition.  And to my delight –  newspaper articles about Georgia were tucked below the cover printed on the day she died.  Hallelujah – my Angels did it again – they brought out a wide smile and despite my best efforts to remain perturbed – I quickly purchased the book and practically skipped back to the studio.  I was still upset with some occurances there but was consoled (and bribed) by my find.  And to make it sweeter still, I will be visiting Georgia O’Keefe’s beloved New Mexico landscape soon.  Synchronicity always amazes me, and this must tickle my Angels to no end, because of all the imaginative and creative ways they devise to get my attention.  I do believe in Angels and Fairies.  I do believe in and am grateful for their blessings.  The book is wonderful.  Georgia is an incredible spirit and she chose to paint because she could not sing.  ME TOO.

sun and clouds
how often I rely solely
on muscle memory

ag ~ 2014

One thought on “Mindful Writing ~ 2014:28

  1. I love that book! Mine’s a ratty paperback edition though. What a treasure you found, along with the newspaper articles about her. Synchronicity and angels, the perfect alignment of blessings in your life. Enjoy Abiquiu, New Mexico when you go.

Leave a Reply

