Mindful Writing ~ 2014:31 The End

It’s the last day of January, and the last of the mindful writing-small stones for 2014.  I believe I completed thirty out of thirty one.  Wish I could say the same for my to-do list.  I’m making some headway, however the list always seems to morph into so much more.  The other day I finished a tiresome chore and to my horror – it wasn’t on the list!  I had to sqeeze it between two other items, just so I could cross it off.  However doing it that way – backended – never yields quite the same satisfaction.  Something is added before it is removed.  Crossing off then feels like cheating.  I know what you’re thinking and rightly so “Sweetie – time to get a life!”  

Actually there is a thread here.  This challenge is always fun and stretches me beyond what I hope for, even when one hits a slump about midway through.  It’s amazing all that goes on in a day, and to pick up and share one piece of it, is both challenging and enriching.  January is really the best month for daily mindful writing.  Winter offers a time for mindful introspection as well as silent snow days.

On the other hand – February – the shortest month of the year is ideal for the #NaHaiWriMo challenge of writing one haiku or senryu per day.  Same mindfullness with more brevity and a whole lot more editing.  Less words but more work.  It may be the easiest form of poetry to write, but the hardest to write well.

Because this is my last long post, I may as well rant a bit – since when and why are #####hashtagsout?  Hello, who decides this stuff anyway? I was just beginning to get the hang of it and quite honestly – reading the hashtags was just as much or even more fun than reading the post!!!!!

#isitjustmebehindtheeightballallIcandoissigh…

#lolololololol

As my close friends know – sometimes I can’t help but amuse myself.

Thank you to all my friends, followers and fellow bloggers for all the alliterative fun this month.  Please stay tuned for less of the same.

ag ~ 2014

7 thoughts on “Mindful Writing ~ 2014:31 The End

  1. I had to laugh at your doing a task that wasn’t on your to-do list, then adding in and scratching it off! Me too! LOL… I think of it as being moved spontaneously by “spirit” to do what really needed/wanted to be done… 🙂 Sounds good anyway…

  2. I enjoyed this month-long mindful writing challenge and visiting your blog along the way. I missed 7 days of writing 😦

    I too have been guilty of adding a task to my written to-do list that I’d spent quite a lot of time on, after the fact, then crossing it out. Hey, in my book, that’s legit. Sometimes other things take precedence, at least that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it 😉

    1. Thank you Cynthia. I too enjoy visiting with you, Barb and Christine at this time of year. Will you try writing a few haiku in February? You can check out the FB page NaHaiWriMo. You can either follow the prompts or not. I am not this year and will only be posting here and on my own FB page. Join in whenever the spirit moves you!

  3. I think I hit ‘like’ on their fb page a while back, but need to add them to my ‘interests’ to get updates. Thank you for the suggestion. I will write haikus now and then , but not for the entire month of February. I will try to write more at “Poetry of Stone and Light,” my wordpress blog which is open now for viewing.

Leave a Reply

