On the Road to the Solstice

Lost On Hardscrabble Road

What am I to do?
Solstice is almost at my door
arriving soon for a long night’s
stay and sure to bring his closest
friends, Darkness, Silence and most
likely Frost, while here I am
lost on Hardscrabble Road.

I still have to set the table
and finish cooking the stew
their appetites soulful, hearty
and hungry for all of me,
we apart  for a year full
oh what a neglectful host here
I am lost on Hardscrabble Road.

What am I to do this road never
seems to end. It sinews and
insinuates its way through dusk
and lit fireplaces already spewing
woodsmoke stars and moon
in anticipation of their return –
the boys with winter on their boots.

And here I am lost on Hardscrabble Road
just come from a party with ladies who
lunch, balancing cloth napkins on
our laps, smiling eyelashes that sip
the last of Daylight’s pleasure – chatting
amiably before driving home, sauced
and seduced by our hostess’ finery.

And here I am lost on Hardscrabble Road
thinking of the boys near ready at my door
the worry of so-much-more-to-do and with
the hurry of holiday headlights ahead –
just one last glance at leftover summer
in my rearview – I start to slow down and enjoy
the tale the bumps the toss the view…

while here I am lost on Hardscrabble Road

ag ~ 21 December 2014

2 thoughts on “On the Road to the Solstice

Leave a Reply

