January 12…

Overheard in a coffee shop early on a Sunday morning: “I wish I wasn’t going to die, because then I wouldn’t have to worry about the weather.”

He was sitting alone behind me. I was just there to buy my weekend newspaper and checking to see if all my favorite sections were included before I paid for it. At first, I thought he was talking to the barista, but she was nowhere to be seen. There were enough clouds and sun in the mix to make me question if this was a lucid dream. Was he talking to a friend or a lover? Was he really going to die soon, and hence was the weather really his penultimate concern?

A surreal WTF moment.

sun clouds sun clouds
spinning
in the ceiling fan
the blur
of a stranger’s words

ag ~ 2015

Leave a Reply

