A New Moon in Capricorn

Once again, just following my intuitive self, I stopped by a local arboretum on the way home from the dentist to walk some old pathways and visit some old friends – trees and grasses in their winter finery. It was sunny but very cold and breezy. The wind cut through my jeans and numbed my limbs. My upper body was scarfed and warm. I stumbled upon an area that I was not familiar with behind the old estate mansion and formal gardens. And there hidden amongst the trees was a labyrinth! Just what I was looking for without even knowing it. A welcoming sign advised a slow pace leaving behind old woes inward bound and setting new intentions on the outward loop. This coincided nicely with the new moon’s energy and my own spirit. The setting was perfect – round stones directing the flow at the top of a knoll overlooking brilliant sunshine on the aged wisdom-keepers of the woods – towering oaks and beeches conversing and fluttering their lantern-like leaves the entire time. The timing was perfect – there wasn’t another person in sight. I followed the instructions like a good Capricorn, paused with an inward breath, and released as I walked. There is a lot for me to let go including a need to know exactly what lies ahead. The labyrinth necklaces around and even though I saw where I would end up – I could not vision beyond a bit of winding ground in front of me. It actually frightened me a little, because I was no longer in control and not sure I was even doing this simple task right. I had to follow the path and surrender the known to the unknown on a very basic yet metaphorical walk. In spite of the fact that I knew the ending – I could not see it laid out fully in front of me and had to take one-step-at-a-time. As is often the case at times like this, my magical child emerges, looks up in wonder and says “of course.”

I’ve known of labyrinths and their use throughout history for prayer and quiet contemplation, but I never really experienced one until today. How simple and brilliant!

What a joy! What a gift! What a great public garden!

IMG_4118 IMG_4121

Leave a Reply

