A Cookin’ Song

Jambalaya and a crawfish pie and fillet gumbo
Cause tonight I’m gonna see my ma cher amio…”

These are lyrics from the song Jambalaya (On the Bayou) by Hank Williams. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted  much less cooked Jambalaya, however growing up in a household where early “cowboy” now called country music was played all the time – I know the words but never really savored the dish. In honor of Fat Tuesday (yesterday), I decided to try my hand at an easy east coast version on what I’m calling Leftover or Procrastinator’s Wednesday. Somehow I think that it probably tastes better on a sticky-heat lazy-alligator bayou with guitars twanging in the background, rather than at a snowy NJ farmhouse, but what the heck – I can still put Hank on in the background and make up my own words…

 

“Jambalaya, tomato pie and white wine cocktails
Cause for lunch I’m going to eat like a Jersey cowgirl…”

~

Fat Tuesday
trying to make and spell
Jambalaya

~

reading the lyrics for the first time I taste the spice

~

bayou and backwater
the difference
in poetics

IMG_4654

2 thoughts on “A Cookin’ Song

Leave a Reply

