The Poetry of Laundromats

Bookmarks

 

My longterm memory is non-existent. Therefore I need other people’s memories, photos and collectibles from happy or special times and places to jog this brain of mine. Bookmarks are one of my favorite of those aforementioned collectables, and I love to pair the book I’m reading (usually three to five at any given time) with a kindred bookmark. Poetry press bookmarks with poetry journals, old bookstore bookmarks with historical novels, recipe books with large glossy easy-to-wipe-off editions etc.

As I was perusing my stock of bookmarks at year’s end during a typical Mercury retrograde look-back-nostalgia, I happened upon some oddball but dear favorites that I will put into my “eclectic bookmark” category:

A wine-hued Caffe-Tasse – Cafe Noir wrapper from a small bar of chocolate picked up in Bruges Belgium in 1997.

A Cirque de Soleil ticket from the performance Varekai on a Saturday night in Boston, September 4, 2004.

A hand-painted purple Volkswagon bug cutout.

DO IT! Let’s Get Off Our Buts – A Guide to Living Your Dreams by John Roger and Peter McWilliams.

Raw NerVZ HAIKU – a haiku, tanka and short poetry journal out of Quebec, Canada that was self-described as “bristling, racy, vital, sizzling, zany, and essential” among other things. I miss this journal – it was always in the vanguard of short poetry.

AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST:

“Self Serve – the sex shop you’ll respect in the morning” out of Albuquerque, New Mexico (I kid you not) – an impressive and progressive out-of-the-box shop.

photo

 

 

 

 

 

late night at the laundromat stories still unfolding 

ag ~ January 2017

Leave a Reply

