And the last shall be first

On a hunt that led me through four stores on a search for dried ancho chiles, I finally scored at the Spanish market in nearby Dover, where I should have started, except that I also needed red miso, organic prunes and fino sherry. A lot of ingredients (+ others not mentioned) for a saucy chicken-dish recipe that conjured up all sorts of salivary anticipation. Usually, I just let an ingredient go here or there, however I was intrigued by this American hybrid dish including Mexican, Japanese and Mediterranean (cumin) influences. So I went on a goose chase that took me close enough to a craft store that side-tracked me into buying some stencils (and other stuff) for my collage work, walked half a mile through large lots looking for and passing my parked car several times, through an unexpected detour following a sanitation truck slowly picking up trash and finally into a fifth parking spot right in front. This had to be the store! I still had to ask three people where to find the dried ancho chile peppers (see description below), and while on a long line for check out, the elder woman behind me using a walker, told me it was going to rain because her arthritic knees were acting up. A good weather report in addition to collecting the components for this smoking meal (I can only hope). Oh — did I forget to mention that I began this whole journey, because I happened to have one ingredient, fresh cilantro, on hand already?

~

still sunny I spy clouds on my way home to chile tonight

img_0927

Ancho chiles are a type of dried chile pepper commonly used in Mexican and Southwestern U.S. cuisine.

The pepper is the dried version of is the poblano pepper. To be specific, it’s the dried version of the ripe version of the poblano pepper.

In other words, the chiles we know as poblano peppers are fresh chiles that are harvested before ripening, which is why they’re green. It’s what your basic chile Relleno is made with.

 

Leave a Reply

